This Is Us


This is real. This is love. This is life. THIS IS US.

this is us nbc

I promised not to cry. Okay, I promised not to ugly cry watching NBC’s new drama series, This Is Us. I already knew the twist prior to watching the pilot episode from episode recaps and reviews posted online so I was prepared for everything that I would see but it still made me weep inside. The current TV landscape is filled with dragons, zombies, procedural dramas and whatnot so it’s actually refreshing to watch something relatable and simple.

 

Well, not so simple, the pilot shows a couple, Rebecca and Jake, played by Mandy Moore (Hi millenials, remember Mandy Moore? I feel old) and Milo Ventimiglia (Heroes, Gilmore Girls), Rebecca is giving birth, Jake is turning 36 like the other characters, Kate (Chrissy Metz), Kevin (Justin Hartley) and Randall (Sterling K. Brown). The trailer did not give away the twist so I just thought that the show was about people who share the same birthday and somehow their stories are interconnected. But there’s actually a reason behind it all and let’s just say that it’s a good twist (My spoiler loving self read the reviews so I knew what was going on but it’s still a different story when I watched the show in its entirety.

There’s so much vitriol and hate in social media and This Is Us brings me back to the good ol’ days, the days of yore, I’ll stop myself from saying more cliches but I recommend you watch This Is Us. Remember to have a tissue on stand by just in case you cry, just in case of an ugly cry.

This Is Us airs on 2nd Avenue every Wednesday at 3 PM and 9 PM.

Till my next rant. Peace and Stay Fresh.

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

